Food Security and Nutrition Network
Select Language

Resource Library

Resilience Measurement Practical Guidance Series: An Overview

Year Published: 

The Resilience Measurement Practical Guidance Note Series synthesizes existing technical documents into pragmatic guidance to assist practitioners in integrating core aspects of resilience measurement into their program assessments, design, monitoring, evaluation, and learning.

In six parts, the series introduces key concepts and guides practitioners through the process of resilience measurement, from assessment to analysis. Unlike many other program impacts (nutrition levels, poverty, etc.), resilience is not an end in itself but rather an ability that shapes how and why outcomes change over time. This makes resilience measurement different from measurement of other program concepts, thus the need for this guidance. 

There are six guidance notes along with a summary brief in this series:

  1. Risk and Resilience Assessments
  2. Measuring Shocks and Stresses
  3. Resilience Capacity Measurement
  4. Resilience Analysis
  5. Resilience Design and Planning for Resilience Monitoring and Evaluation at the Activity Level
  6. Resilience Measurement Practical Guidance Note Series 6: Recurrent Monitoring Surveys

In June, 2018, the REAL Award organized a Short Course in Resilience Measurement consisting of three webinars that provided a deep-dive into the five guidance notes. You can read more about the course here. Recordings of the webinars are available via these links: Session 1: Guidance Note 1, Session 2: Guidance Note 5, Session 3: Guidance Notes 2, 3 & 4. Presentations can be downloaded from this page (on the right).

The Resilience Measurement Practical Guidance Note Series was prepared by Mercy Corps in collaboration with the USAID Center for Resilience, TANGO International, and Save the Children under the Resilience Evaluation, Analysis and Learning (REAL) Award. Learn more about REAL here