Retour aux événements

L'agroécologie en action : Voies vers des systèmes alimentaires résilients

photo d'une femme tenant des animaux
Tom Merilion/Save The Children
Date :
13 octobre 2020
Le temps :
11:00am - 12:30pm EST
Localisation :
En ligne
Organisateur :
ÉCHELLE

Regarder l'enregistrement

Note : Cet événement est un événement parallèle du dialogue Borlaug 2020. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Pour de nombreuses communautés vulnérables à travers le monde, les défis posés par COVID-19 ne sont qu'une menace de plus dans la longue liste des menaces à la sécurité alimentaire. Des décennies de dégradation de l'environnement et de déforestation, de sécheresse, d'invasions de ravageurs et de troubles politiques ont longtemps mis à rude épreuve des réserves alimentaires déjà vulnérables. Pour relever ces défis, notre communauté mondiale devra repenser et remodeler les systèmes alimentaires de manière à les transformer - en reconnaissant que la production alimentaire est indissociable des écosystèmes dont elle dépend. Dans ce contexte, le potentiel de l'agroécologie pour restaurer et revitaliser les paysages et les moyens de subsistance constitue une voie prometteuse pour l'avenir.

Joignez-vous à SCALE pour cette conversation pratique et multidisciplinaire qui réunit des praticiens, des chercheurs et des partenaires du secteur privé du monde entier pour réfléchir au rôle des approches agroécologiques dans la mise en place de systèmes alimentaires durables, régénérateurs et résistants. Des exemples seront tirés du travail des organisations humanitaires et des chercheurs dans des contextes d'urgence et de développement, ainsi que des entrepreneurs qui lancent des entreprises innovantes et percutantes pour les communautés et les paysages.

Agenda

Cette session de 90 minutes comprendra des présentations dynamiques, une discussion en panel avec modérateur et une séance ouverte de questions-réponses. Nous le ferons ensemble :

  • Planter le décor : Pourquoi l'agroécologie ?
  • Partager la manière dont ces pratiques sont mises en œuvre concrètement dans les programmes de sécurité alimentaire mondiale, avec des exemples allant des collines de la RDC aux camps de réfugiés du nord de l'Ouganda et de la Somalie
  • Examiner les recherches sur les impacts des approches agroécologiques sur la sécurité alimentaire, la résilience des ménages et la santé des écosystèmes, et réfléchir aux lacunes qui subsistent en matière de données
  • Discuter de la manière dont les efforts de restauration des agroécosystèmes ouvrent des opportunités d'innovation et d'entreprenariat à travers l'Afrique, et
  • Réfléchir sur les obstacles particuliers qui se posent au maintien et à l'extension de ces solutions

Cette session est conçue pour servir de tremplin à de nouveaux partenariats et à de nouvelles actions. Dans cette optique, nous donnerons aux participants la possibilité de continuer à travailler avec nos panélistes de plusieurs manières, qu'il s'agisse de faire avancer le programme de recherche, de conseiller les entrepreneurs ou de partager les enseignements, les ressources et les meilleures pratiques.

Intervenants

Thomas Cole, consultant en Resilience Design, co-fondateur de African Women Rising et ancien conseiller en sécurité alimentaire et agriculture de la région Afrique pour Save the Children

Tom a travaillé pendant plus de 25 ans dans le domaine de l'agriculture durable, en se concentrant sur le redressement post-conflit, l'horticulture biologique, la vulgarisation agricole, la permaculture, la gestion des ressources naturelles et la sécurité alimentaire. Son expérience récente comprend le soutien aux populations déplacées à l'intérieur du pays en Éthiopie, en République démocratique du Congo et au Sud-Soudan et dans les camps de réfugiés de l'est du Tchad et du nord de l'Ouganda, ainsi que le soutien aux programmes financés par le Bureau d'aide humanitaire de l'USAID en partenariat avec le prix SCALE.

Warren Brush, consultant en conception de résilience, co-fondateur de la permaculture de Quail Springs

Warren Brush est consultant en conception de résilience globale, éducateur, conférencier et conteur. Il a travaillé pendant plus de 30 ans dans l'éducation agroécologique et la conception de systèmes régénératifs pour des communautés, des organisations privées et publiques, des ménages, des exploitations agricoles et des propriétés de conservation dans le monde entier. Il est co-fondateur de Quail Springs Permaculture, Wilderness Youth Project, Practical Resilience Consulting et est conseiller fondateur de l'Institut de recherche en permaculture du Kenya. Il a également été membre de l'équipe TOPS de l'USAID où il a contribué à l'élaboration du cadre de conception de la résilience et travaille actuellement comme consultant pour le prix SCALE, financé par le Bureau de l'aide humanitaire de l'USAID.

Jan Morrow, Acting Agriculture Team Leader and Senior Agriculture and Food Security Advisor, Office of Technical and Program Quality, USAID Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance

Jan Morrow provides technical support and policy guidance for programming and planning related to agricultural production, mitigation and localized and regional food security. He is a USDA/FAS PASA, and leads a team of nine specialists at the Office of Technical and Program Quality of the Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance covering improving agricultural production, seed system security, irrigation, pests and pesticides, livestock, fisheries and aquaculture, and veterinary pharmaceuticals and other medical commodities. Prior to joining USAID in 2016, Jan worked for over 15 years in both private veterinary practice and the NGO world in agriculture, livestock and veterinary, relief and development contexts.

Dr. Fergus L. Sinclair, scientifique principal, World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Kenya

Le Dr Fergus Sinclair est responsable de la science des systèmes à l'ICRAF (World Agroforestry), à Nairobi, grâce à une collaboration avec l'université de Bangor, au Royaume-Uni. Il dirige le programme phare "Livelihood Systems" du programme de recherche du CGIAR sur les forêts, les arbres et l'agroforesterie (FTA), est professeur honoraire au CATIE (Centre pour la recherche agricole et l'enseignement supérieur) au Costa Rica et rédacteur honoraire de "Agroforestry Systems". Il est chef d'équipe de projet pour le Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale (CSA) des Nations unies, le rapport du Groupe d'experts de haut niveau sur l'agroécologie et l'auteur principal du document de référence sur les approches agroécologiques pour une agriculture résistante au climat pour la Commission mondiale sur l'adaptation.

Amanda Gant, Accelerator Manager for the Global Restoration Initiative, World Resources Institute

Amanda Gant est responsable de l'accélérateur pour l'Initiative de restauration mondiale, où elle travaille à l'amélioration et à l'expansion du programme Land Accelerator, qui est en pleine expansion. Auparavant, Amanda a été responsable des prêts aux petites entreprises pour des dizaines d'entreprises à Washington, et a dirigé des camps de démarrage et des programmes de mentorat virtuel pour soutenir les entrepreneurs en Afrique, en Europe de l'Est, au Moyen-Orient et en Asie. Amanda est titulaire d'une maîtrise en politique publique internationale et d'une licence en service extérieur, toutes deux obtenues à l'université de Georgetown.

Samuel Rigu, fondateur de Safi Organics

Samuel Rigu est un gestionnaire d'entreprise agricole soucieux de l'environnement, un entrepreneur social et un innovateur qui a étudié la gestion d'entreprise agricole à l'université de Nairobi au Kenya. Samuel a grandi dans le Kenya rural, où il a été le témoin direct des difficultés rencontrées par les agriculteurs ruraux, tels que sa grand-mère et ses voisins, pour accéder à des engrais abordables et à haut rendement, et a décidé de résoudre ce problème. Samuel a fondé Safi Organics en 2015, une entreprise qui utilise la technologie pour convertir les déchets de culture des agriculteurs en engrais organiques à haut rendement.

Luni Libes, fondatrice et directrice générale de Fledge Seattle, Fledge ; PDG de Africa Eats

Luni Libes est une entrepreneure en série de plus de 25 ans, fondatrice de six startups, entrepreneure en résidence et instructrice à la Presidio Graduate School, et entrepreneure en résidence émérite au CoMotion de l'université de Washington, le centre pour l'impact et l'innovation. Luni est l'auteur de The Next Step, une série de livres et de cours qui guident les entrepreneurs de l'idée à la réalité ; elle est également blogueuse et répond sans cesse aux questions des entrepreneurs sur Quora. Si le schéma n'est pas évident, Luni passe la plupart de ses heures de veille à aider les entrepreneurs.

Kristin Lambert, conseillère agricole, SCALE Award

En tant que conseiller agricole pour le prix SCALE, Kristin fournit une assistance technique, un renforcement des capacités et un soutien à la recherche aux partenaires de mise en œuvre de la BHA travaillant sur l'agriculture résiliente et les activités de GRN. Auparavant, Kristin a travaillé pendant plus de dix ans en tant que conseiller technique, gestionnaire de programme et chercheur sur une série de programmes de développement dans toute l'Afrique subsaharienne et l'Asie. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en gestion environnementale de la Yale School of the Environment et d'une maîtrise en politique publique de l'Université de Virginie.

Dr Andrea Mottram, directeur du programme Mercy Corps, SCALE Award

Andrea dirige le prix SCALE, financé par l'USAID/BHA, qui soutient le partage des connaissances et le renforcement des capacités des partenaires de mise en œuvre de la BHA travaillant dans l'agriculture, la GRN et les moyens de subsistance alternatifs. Avec 20 ans d'expérience en Afrique et en Asie, Andrea a conçu, géré et conseillé de nombreux programmes de recherche et de développement allant de la production de petites cultures à la gestion durable des ressources. Andrea est titulaire d'un doctorat de l'Université du Pays de Galles en production de sorgho et de millet dans les zones semi-arides, et d'un MSc en gestion des ressources rurales.

Back To Events

Agroecology in Action: Pathways to Resilient Food Systems

photo of woman holding animals
Tom Merilion/Save The Children
Date:
Oct 13, 2020
Time:
11:00am - 12:30pm EDT
Location:
Online
Organizer:
SCALE

Watch the Recording

Note: This event is a 2020 Borlaug Dialogue Side Event. Learn more here.

For many vulnerable communities across the globe, the challenges posed by COVID-19 are just one more in a long list of food security threats. Decades of environmental degradation and deforestation, drought, pest invasions, and political unrest have long strained already vulnerable food supplies. Tackling these challenges will require our global community to rethink and reshape food systems in transformative ways - ways that recognize food production as inseparable from the ecosystems upon which they depend. In this context, the potential of agroecology to restore and revitalize landscapes and livelihoods provides a promising pathway forward.

Join SCALE for this practical, multi-disciplinary conversation bringing together international practitioners, researchers, and private sector partners to reflect on the role of agroecological approaches in building sustainable, regenerative, and resilient food systems. Examples will draw from the work of humanitarian organizations and researchers in emergency and development contexts, as well as from the entrepreneurs launching innovative and impactful businesses for communities and landscapes.

Agenda

This 90-minute session will include dynamic presentations, a moderated panel discussion, and an open Q&A. Together we will:

  • Set the scene: Why agroecology?
  • Share how these practices are practically implemented in global food security programs, with examples from the hills of DRC to refugee camps in Northern Uganda and Somalia
  • Examine research on the impacts of agroecological approaches on food security, household resilience, and ecosystem health, and reflect on the outstanding evidence gaps
  • Discuss how efforts to restore agroecosystems are opening opportunities for innovation and entrepreneurship across Africa, and
  • Reflect on the unique hurdles posed to sustaining and scaling up these solutions

This session is designed to serve as a launching pad for new partnerships and action. With this in mind, we will introduce opportunities for attendees to continue working with our panelists in a number of ways - from furthering the research agenda to mentoring entrepreneurs, and sharing learnings, resources, and best practices.

Speakers

Thomas Cole, Resilience Design Consultant, Co-founder of African Women Rising and former Africa Region Food Security and Agriculture Advisor for Save the Children

Tom has worked over 25 years in sustainable agriculture with a focus on post-conflict recovery, organic horticulture, agricultural extension, permaculture, natural resource management and food security. His recent experience has included support to internally displaced populations in Ethiopia, Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan and in refugee camps in eastern Chad and Northern Uganda, as well as support to USAID's Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance-funded programs in partnership with the SCALE Award.

Warren Brush, Resilience Design Consultant, Co-Founder Quail Springs Permaculture

Warren Brush is a global resilience design consultant, educator, lecturer and storyteller. He has worked for over 30 years in agroecological education and regenerative system design for communities, private and public organizations, households, farms, and conservation properties worldwide.  He is co-founder of Quail Springs Permaculture, Wilderness Youth Project, Practical Resilience Consulting and is an advising founder of the Permaculture Research Institute of Kenya. He was also a member of the USAID’s TOPS team where he helped to develop the Resilience Design Framework and currently working as a consultant for the USAID USAID's Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance-funded SCALE award.

Jan Morrow, Acting Agriculture Team Leader and Senior Agriculture and Food Security Advisor, Office of Technical and Program Quality, USAID Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance

Jan Morrow provides technical support and policy guidance for programming and planning related to agricultural production, mitigation and localized and regional food security. He is a USDA/FAS PASA, and leads a team of nine specialists at the Office of Technical and Program Quality of the Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance covering improving agricultural production, seed system security, irrigation, pests and pesticides, livestock, fisheries and aquaculture, and veterinary pharmaceuticals and other medical commodities. Prior to joining USAID in 2016, Jan worked for over 15 years in both private veterinary practice and the NGO world in agriculture, livestock and veterinary, relief and development contexts.

Dr. Fergus L. Sinclair, Principal Scientist, World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Kenya

Dr Fergus Sinclair is Leader of Systems Science at World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Nairobi through collaboration with Bangor University, UK. He leads the Livelihood Systems flagship of the CGIAR research program on Forests, Trees and Agroforestry (FTA), is Honorary Professor at CATIE (Centre for Agricultural Research and Higher Education) in Costa Rica and Honorary Editor of Agroforestry Systems. He is project team leader for the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS), High-Level Panel of Experts (HLPE) report on agroecology and lead author of the background paper on agroecological approaches to realizing climate-resilient agriculture for the Global Commission on Adaptation.

Amanda Gant, Accelerator Manager for the Global Restoration Initiative, World Resources Institute

Amanda Gant is an Accelerator Manager for the Global Restoration Initiative, where she works to improve and expand the program's growing Land Accelerator program. Previously, Amanda served as a Small Business Lending Officer to dozens of businesses in DC, and has led startup boot camps and virtual mentorship programs supporting entrepreneurs in Africa, Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Asia. Amanda holds a master’s degree in International Public Policy and a bachelors degree in Foreign Service, both from Georgetown University.

Samuel Rigu, Founder, Safi Organics

Samuel Rigu is an environmental conscious agribusiness manager, a social entrepreneur and an innovator who studied Agribusiness management from The University of Nairobi Kenya. Samuel grew up in rural Kenya, where he witnessed first-hand the challenges of rural farmers such as his grandmother and neighbors for accessing affordable, high-yield fertilizer, and resolved to solve this problem. Samuel founded Safi Organics in 2015 a company that uses technology to convert farmers’ crop waste to high yielding organic fertilizers.

Luni Libes, Founder and Managing Director of Fledge Seattle, Fledge; CEO of Africa Eats

Luni Libes is a 25+ year serial entrepreneur, founder of six startups; Entrepreneur in Residence and instructor at Presidio Graduate School; and Entrepreneur in Residence Emeritus at the University of Washington’s CoMotion, the center for impact and innovation. Luni is the author of The Next Step, a series of book and classes guiding entrepreneurs from idea to reality; plus blogger and incessant answerer of entrepreneurs’ questions on Quora. If the pattern is not obvious, Luni spends most of his waking hours helping entrepreneurs.

Kristin Lambert, Agriculture Advisor, SCALE Award

As an Agriculture Advisor on the SCALE award, Kristin provides technical assistance, capacity strengthening and research support to BHA implementing partners working on resilient agriculture and NRM activities. Previously, Kristin worked for over a decade as a technical advisor, program manager and researcher on a range of development programs throughout sub-Saharan Africa and Asia. She holds a Master’s in Environmental Management from the Yale School of the Environment and a Master’s in Public Policy from the University of Virginia.

Dr. Andrea Mottram, Mercy Corps Program Director, SCALE Award

Andrea leads the USAID/BHA-funded SCALE award, which supports knowledge sharing and capacity strengthening for BHA implementing partners working in agriculture, NRM and alternative livelihoods. With 20 years of experience across Africa and Asia, Andrea has designed, managed and advised on numerous research and development programs ranging from smallholder crop production to sustainable resource management. Andrea has a PhD from the University of Wales in Sorghum and Millet Production in Semi-Arid areas, and an MSc in Rural Resource Management.